Tuesday, February 4, 2014

In.Bed.By.9.

I've always wanted to live the life of a rockstar. Travel the world. Drink lots. Go on crazy adventures with fun people. Maybe break the law a little bit. 

For a while, I had my own rockstar-type adventures: Drove all night to a far off towns for a rock show. Slept in the car. Had no money. Flirted my way into places. Or just broke in. Only worked contract jobs when I had to. I knew people. I crowd surfed every week. I belted out lyrics until my voice was gone. I smashed cars for fun. Then danced on their rooftops. It was a hell of a time. 

But somewhere along the line I fell into the corporate trap. That deep well you fall into. When you're up and dressed by 7 am. And working 12hour days to help the man get rich, a handfull of times each week. The wearing of the collared shirts, and lack of a half sleeve tattoo on my arm, makes me feel like 'hey, I've made it this far through life playing according to society's rules, should I really stop now?' 

But the conversations I have with people still living their life according to their rockstar dreams, makes me think that, yes, maybe things could be different. Maybe I could stay up all night. And fall asleep to the lights of the sunrise. Maybe I could rock out on empty streets. When the drunken debauchery disappears. And the world sleeps. The outdoor sex possibilities. And the blood pumping adrenaline from knowing that you do what you want. And no one is around to judge you. Or stop you. Or say discouraging things. It all makes the void in my life very present. , 

Could rockstar living be the better alternative to a life full of schedules and meetings? Should I dive further into corporate culture and become one of those people? Those who have their lives so together that they want to wake up at 4am. To go for a run. And eat breakfast. And play guitar, before going to their 8am jobs? Should I be in bed by dusk without leading any type of social existence? Besides an early dinner. With a class of wine. No dessert? 

Shit,  if I didn't love sleep. And naps. And laying down daydreaming with my eyes closed so much, I'd consider eliminating sleep all together. I'd be happy just be awake living life always. And not just a portion of each day... But those times when you're in bed with someone you care about, sharing silence... those are moments that shouldn't be taken for granted, or taken away. Meaning, our days are already filled with too many to-do's, and sleep is awesome. 

What's my point? I guess I'm trying to make that life-altering decision as to what I want in the near future. Do I want to party like a rockstar? And live it up? Causing chaos before I run out of time? Will I leave corporate bullshit? Or will I decide to pay by the rules of vacation days that are scheduled in advance? Of punching in and punching out. And getting shitty healthcare as an added bonus? Will I one day just snap. And get on my motorcycle. And ride into the sunset towards Guatemala, with no plans to ever return? Will I stress out trying to find a part time gig that will in tern takes away all my free time? 

I want to blog., And I want to get my frustrations out. And I want to rock out and stay out late! But my eyes grow droopy when those covers hit my legs. I can't stay awake. I'm in bed by 9. 

Monday, February 3, 2014

Hey - I'm a Romantic!

The definition of romantic, according to AnnaB! is simply that... of holding hands. Sweet, and easy. But hold hands the proper way boys and girls: palms together, fingers intertwined. None of this mitten-type hand holding when your fingers touch each other instead of your beau's. Any time two people hold hands, it SHOULD be considered romantic. 

I brought this up at a New Years Party to some random people I didn't know, and stirred up a bit of a rucckas. One girl thought my theory was bullshit because when she tried to hold her boys hand, it would last 30 seconds and then he'd pull away. Naturally, I'd wanted to give the girl the 'he's just not that into you' speech, but what do I know?... so I went on to explain: 'It's not the length that matters, it's the technique (I know... - as if we all haven't heard that one before *rolls eyes*)  and when she demonstrated how they held hands, it WAS in fact, ROMANTIC. 

So, you ask, 'if I'm giving it to her from behind, but holding her hand like that...' -yup,  it's romantic. 
'And if I finish and it goes up her nose...?'  -yup, still romantic. 
'And if I have my hands clasped like that over the back of  her head when I'm...',  WHOA, if your're holding your own hand romantically, that may count as only romantic to you. Let's not get the two confused. Everyone got it?

Alright: time to go through the motions: 
AnnaB Gives Bullshit Relationship Advice, A Topic She Know Nothing About
Step One: Getting Her Attention
How should you go about getting out of the friend zone with that pretty, shy, girl next door? Simple! Hold her hand. A girl usually reacts one of two ways: 1. she' s thrown off by it and pulls away (in which case boys, give up while you can, you're perma-friend-zone'd) or 2. she could be thrown off by it but allow it to continue, in which case, if you strategize how to get her bra off with the other hand, you'll be golden! *sidenoteGirls with attitude will test you when you go for their hand 'umm why are you holding my hand?' is a pretty straight-forwardly-common question. This does NOT MEAN 'stop holding my hand', it's just a test to see how you answer. The best way is the truth:  Tell them that is your BEST MOVE... OR tell them AnnaB told you to do it (I need more hits on this blog)
 
Step Two: Woo'ing Her
You got a date? Congratulations! Taking her to a Movie? How original! Need to make a move? Simple! Hold her hand. One of the best places to hold hands is at the movies. No one looks at you as if you're cheesy, cuz it's dark. You get to play with each others fingers and draw hearts in each others palms. But you're nervous about just reaching over? Wait until she grabs some popcorn, then meet her hand inside the bucket. Holding hands in popcorn is uber romantic. Your fingers intertwined in that buttery goodness, all slimey making your heart skip a beat! 

AND THEN, if you're really romantic - you could lick each others butter glistened fingers. Not in the sloppy 'I'm eating chicken wings' kinda way, but more like the way they do in porn, you know? Hold the  persons hand with both your own, choosing that one finger, then looking them romantically in the eyes and licking it super slow... and them swallowing hard? AND, once you're finished licking them, you could go back to hand holding. :)

I've been pretty adamant about this hand holding business the last month or so, and I stick by it. And when I think back, all the boys I tend to like...
 yup,.. they've held my hand.